

The solar system has eight planets: Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. There are five officially recognized dwarf planets in our solar system: Ceres, Pluto, Haumea, Makemake, and Eris. What is a Planet? Inner Planets. The first four planets from the Sun are Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars.



The first four planets in order from the Sun???Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars???are all small, with rocky surfaces and orbits close to one another. From Jupiter outward, the planets are enormous and gassy, possess no ???



In order from the Sun, they are four terrestrial planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars); two gas giants (Jupiter and Saturn); and two ice giants (Uranus and Neptune). All terrestrial planets have solid surfaces. Inversely, all giant planets do not have a definite surface, as they are mainly composed of gases and liquids.

ALL PLANETS IN ORDER





The most common way to order the planets is by their distance from the sun. Using this method, the planets are listed in the following order: Contents. Planets in Order From the Sun. How to Remember the Order of the Planets. You Can Order the Planets in Other Ways. The Planets in Order by Size. Planets With the Most Moons.



Solar System Overview. The Solar System is a complex system with the Sun at its center. It includes eight planets, with Mercury being the closest to the Sun, followed by Venus, Earth, and Mars. These inner planets are rocky and terrestrial.