

The 19th Century. The number of bodies in the solar system increased dramatically in the 19th century with the discovery of the asteroids (464 of which were known at by 1899) but only 9 more "major" bodies were discovered. The number of major bodies rose to 31 (almost double the 17th century total): Search. Search in.



There are currently five confirmed dwarf planets in our Solar System, namely Pluto, Eris, Makemake, Haumea, and Ceres. There may be more dwarf planets near us, but they are yet to be confirmed. The largest of these dwarf planet is Pluto, while the smallest is Ceres. Pluto has a diameter of 2,376 kilometers / 1,476 miles, while Ceres is at 946



The Nine Planets is an encyclopedic overview with facts and information about mythology and current scientific knowledge of the planets, moons, and other objects in our solar system and beyond. The 9 Planets in Our Solar System

HOW MANY PLANETS ARE THERE IN SOLAR SYSTEM





. In our Solar System, there are eight planets. The planets in order from the Sun based on their distance are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. The planets of our Solar System are listed based on their distance from the Sun.



The most well-known planets in our Milky Way are the eight planets of our Solar System, namely Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. There are also the five dwarf planets Pluto, Eris, Makemake, Haumea, and Ceres. Some other planets that are located in the Milky Way, and not in our Solar System, are called exoplanets



All other objects3 except satellites orbiting the Sun shall be referred to collectively as "Small Solar-System Bodies". So by this official definition there are exactly eight "planets": Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Ceres, Pluto, and Eris (2003UB313) are now classificed as "dwarf planets".

HOW MANY PLANETS ARE THERE IN SOLAR SYSTEM





. There are 181 known moons in our Solar System which are orbiting planets and dwarf planets.

Despite there being so many moons not every planet or dwarf planet has a moon. A table of planets and dwarf planets with the number of moons is below.



The solar system consists of the Sun; the eight official planets, at least three "dwarf planets", more than 130 satellites of the planets, a large number of small bodies (the comets and asteroids), and the interplanetary medium. (There are probably also many more planetary satellites that have not yet been discovered.)



The eight planets in our Solar System, in order from the Sun, are the four terrestrial planets Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars, followed by the two gas giants Jupiter and Saturn, and the ice giants Uranus and Neptune. These are the eight planets of our Solar System; however, there is a ninth, or at least, there used to be a ninth planet, namely