

Our solar system includes the Sun, eight planets, five officially named dwarf planets, and hundreds of moons, and thousands of asteroids and comets.

Our solar system is located in the Milky Way, a barred spiral galaxy with two major arms, and two minor arms.



Distances in the Solar System are huge. Too huge for kilometres or miles to be useful. Instead, we use astronomical unit (AU). One AU is the distance from the Earth to the Sun. It is equal to 150 million kilometres. Solar System Formation. The Solar System formed from a huge cloud of gas and dust, which collapsed around 4.6 billion years ago.



In order from the Sun, they are four terrestrial planets (Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars); two gas giants (Jupiter and Saturn); and two ice giants (Uranus and Neptune). All terrestrial planets have solid surfaces. Inversely, all giant planets do not have a definite surface, as they are mainly composed of gases and liquids.

HOW MANY SOLAR SYSTEMS EXIST IN THE UNIVERSE





? How Many Solar Systems Are in Our Galaxy? The Short Answer: Our planetary system is the only one officially called "solar system," but astronomers have discovered more than 3,200 other stars with planets orbiting them in our galaxy.



Our solar system consists of our star, the Sun, and everything bound to it by gravity ??? the planets Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune; dwarf planets such as Pluto; dozens of moons; and millions of asteroids, comets, and meteoroids.



? Solar system, assemblage consisting of the Sun and those bodies orbiting it: 8 planets with about 210 known planetary satellites; many asteroids, some with their own satellites; comets and other icy bodies; and vast reaches of highly tenuous gas and dust known as the interplanetary medium.

HOW MANY SOLAR SYSTEMS EXIST IN THE UNIVERSE





Our solar system is made up of a star???the Sun???eight planets, 146 moons, a bunch of comets, asteroids and space rocks, ice, and several dwarf planets, such as Pluto. The eight planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune.