

The Nine Planets is an encyclopedic overview with facts and information about mythology and current scientific knowledge of the planets, moons, and other objects in our solar system and beyond.



The 19th Century. The number of bodies in the solar system increased dramatically in the 19th century with the discovery of the asteroids (464 of which were known at by 1899) but only 9 more "major" bodies were discovered. The number of major bodies rose to 31 (almost double the 17th century total): Search. Search in.



The Nine Planets is a collection of information about our Solar System intended for a general audience with little technical background. No special expertise or knowledge is needed; all technical and astronomical terms and proper names are defined in the glossary. The bulk of this material should be familiar to planetary scientists and astronomers but they may find a few ???

WHAT ARE THE PLANETS OF THE SOLAR SYSTEM





Solar System Scope is an incredibly accurate solar system tour, allowing you to explore the solar system, the night sky and outer space in real-time. All of the objects on the tour are accurately positioned based on where they are right this very second, and the tour contains interesting facts and information about the many objects in space.



The planets in order from the Sun based on their distance are Mercury, Venus, Earth, Mars, Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. The planets of our Solar System are listed based on their distance from the Sun. There are, of course, the dwarf planets Ceres, Pluto, Haumea, Makemake, and Eris; however, they are in a different class.



The planets of the solar system are grouped into three categories, based on their size and composition: They are gas giants (2), ice giants (2), and terrestrial planets (4??? including Earth). Key Facts & Summary The biggest planets in the Solar System are the gas giants Jupiter and Saturn. Coming into second place, based on their size, are the ice giants Neptune and ???

WHAT ARE THE PLANETS OF THE SOLAR SYSTEM





Solar System Facts | Information, Size, History and Definition. The solar system consists of the Sun; the eight official planets, at least three "dwarf planets", more than 130 satellites of the planets, a large number of small bodies (the comets and asteroids), and the interplanetary medium. (There are probably also many more planetary



The eight planets in our Solar System, in order from the Sun, are the four terrestrial planets Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars, followed by the two gas giants Jupiter and Saturn, and the ice giants Uranus and Neptune. These are the eight planets of our Solar System; however, there is a ninth, or at least, there used to be a ninth planet, namely